Tick Prevention 101 - for Pet Parents

You really don't want to skip on this newsletter... šŸ‘€

Hello there furriend and happy Caturday! Hope youā€™re doing well and enjoying the spring! Grab a cup of coffee, tea, or a beverage of choice - cause itā€™s a long one šŸ˜øšŸ’›

Tick Prevention 101 - for Pet Parents

Last week (ish) I posted a story on my Instagram, asking which topics youā€™re the most interested in. I was genuinely surprised that the majority of you chose to discuss ticks. If you picked one of the other topics - I will discuss them in the near future, donā€™t ya worry! :) 

I donā€™t know about you, but I am so disgusted by ticks, it often turns into absolute anxiety when I see one on me. I am not sure when, where, and why I am like this - I used to be nonchalant about finding ticks on me after each hike. Last year I found a tick on me (it fell from my hair on my face) when I was in bed, ready for sleepā€¦ Needless to say I cried and had a hard time falling asleep LOL 

Why are ticks dangerous? 

Ticks carry a number of diseases - Lyme, Rocky Mountain fever, Colorado tick fever, and tick paralysis - to name just a few. Depending where you live, you may have a larger ā€œcommunityā€ of ticks, and they may carry different yuckiesā€¦

Ticks can vary in sizes - they can be as small as a poppy seed, and grow to be the size of an apple seed. If you want to be bamboozled (or grossed out?) check out this CDC post (or riddle) and see if you can spot the ticks on the poppy seed muffin. 

Letā€™s talk about common tick repellents, and how to protect yourself from those nasty crawlersā€¦

Tick Repellents for Humans

The most common (and most effective) tick deterrents are ones that consist at least 20-30% of DEET. Unfortunately, this chemical is HIGHLY toxic to cats. If you decide to use it, make sure that the bug spray dries fully before you let your kitty approach you. It seems that once the product dries, itā€™s less toxic to pets - but I am still weary with it. I like to stay on the safe side and avoid this product when I go out with Chumka. 

Another option is treating your clothes with permethrin. You need to be careful as this chemical is also very toxic to cats šŸ™ˆ HOWEVER! You treat your clothes with this product, and once itā€™s dry, itā€™s safe for pets to be around you.

Here is a link to a study on permethrin toxicity with cats. All of the reported toxic reactions came from either humans accidentally using dog products on cats, or cats ingesting the chemical from grooming their doggy friend. Later in this newsletter I am going to share some really important information on pet products containing this chemical - so keep reading. 

How to protect yourself from ticks (without chemicals) 

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Chumka's Corner to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now